deutsche Version - www.jim-bergerac.de   english version - www.jim-bergerac.de

play the BERGERAC-Theme
       
last modified 15.07.2010

   
        actors
pictures
series
guestbook
links
home
travelogue

Order your personal Bergerac-T-Shirt, Basecap, and so on here. Please have a look.




        Our trip to Jersey from June 14 to June 22, 2008


Sunday, June 15
Neolithic burial site - La Hougue Bie, Jersey It’s our 2nd day on the island, and today we have a plan. We decide to drive to the Neolithic burial site of “La Hougue Bie” which is north of Jersey’s capital St. Helier and is said to be, according to Baedeker travel guide, the Channel Island’s only important sight. The passage tomb was built in 3,500 B.C. underneath a high mound on which a split chapel was erected. Since the entrance of the passage tomb is only about 1,20m, tall people can only enter the tomb by stooping. The construction is equipped with a museum and various, very interesting exhibits which are outside the actual passage tomb. For £27 each you can buy something like a London-pass. By paying for a ticket once, you are allowed to enter many different sights of Jersey Heritage Trust (e.g. La Hougue Bie, Elizabeth Castle, Gorey Castle, Occupation Tapestry, Maritim Museum, and Hamptonne Country Life Museum) – still not exactly inexpensive, but yet cheaper than buying each ticket individually.


Green lane, Jersey
Jersey’s streets are idyllic, but very narrow. The so-called Green Lanes are even narrower, sometimes they might only be 2 to 2,5 meters wide. Pedestrians and cyclists have the right of way, but I wouldn’t recommend a bike tour anyway. There is simply to much traffic and too little openness. The picture shows a rather wider road.



The hungry man, Rozel Bay, Jersey



We decide to have our lunch at “The Hungry Man“ on Rozel Bay, a praised fast food stall with its own real local flavor. As you can see in the picture, there weren’t many people ordering food, and yet we had to wait 70 minutes!!! for our burger to be done. Older people should watch out – look at the picture.


The hungry man, Rozel Bay, Jersey










Gorey Castle, Jersey



In the afternoon, we made a quick trip to Gorey – the scenery made of the harbour and Gorey Castle is simply breathtaking. If you want to view the fortress very thoroughly, you need more time, so that’s why we decided to postpone it till the next day.






Old Court House Inn, St. Aubin, Jersey
We had a walk in St. Aubin’s harbour and coincidentally found a place which used to be a setting for Jim Bergerac quite often. It’s “Lils Barge” (show in Google-Earth / KMZ-file) which can be recognized by the window which looks like the stern of an old sailing ship. In “Lils Barge”, Jim Bergerac often met with his several girl friends or with his boss or colleagues. By the way, the real “Lils Barge” is called “Old Court House Inn”.

deutsche Version - www.jim-bergerac.de   english version - www.jim-bergerac.de

play the BERGERAC-Theme
       
zuletzt geändert am 23.04.2009

   
        actors
pictures
series
guestbook
links
home
travelogue

Ihr Bergerac-T-Shirt, Basecap, etc. gibt es hier zu bestellen. Schauen Sie mal rein.

Bergerac Fan-Artikel hier zu bestellen!



        Unsere Reise nach Jersey vom 14. Juni bis 22. Juni 2008.


Sonntag, 15. Juni

Ganggrab La Hougue Bie, Jersey Der zweite Tag auf der Insel bricht an und diesmal mit Plan. Als erstes fahren wir zu der nördlich der Hauptstadt St. Helier gelegenen neolithischen Grabanlage "La Hougue Bie" - laut dem Baedeker - Reiseführer die "eigentlich bedeutendste Sehenswürdigkeit der Kanalinseln". Das ca. 3500 v. Chr. errichtete Gangrab liegt unter einem hohen Erdhügel, auf dem eine zweiteilige mittelalterliche Kapelle steht. Der Eingang in das Ganggrab ist nur ca. 1,20 m hoch, so das großgewachsene Menschen nur im "Entengang" das Innere erreichen. Die Anlage ist mit einem Museum und verschiedenen interessanten Freiluftexponaten ausgestattet. Hier kann man für ca. 27 Jersey-Pfund (pro Person) eine Sammeleintrittskarte für mehrere Sehenswürdigkeiten des Jersey Heritage Trust erwerben (La Hougue Bie, Elizabeth Castle, Gorey Castle, Occupation Tapestry, Maritim Museum und Hamptonne Country Life Museum) - nicht gerade preiswert aber günstiger, als alles einzeln zu bezahlen.


Straße auf Jersey
Jersey Straßen sind idyllisch aber eng. Die sogenannten Green Lanes sind noch enger - teilweise nur ca. 2 bis 2,5 m breit. Hier haben zwar Fußgänger und Radfahrer Vorfahrt - ein Fahrradtour ist aber aus meiner Sicht trotzdem nicht empfehlenswert, da ein starker PKW-Verkehr bei äußerst geringer Übersichtlichkeit herrscht. Die im Bild nebenan abgebildete Straße ist eine der breiteren.



The hungry man, Rozel Bay, Jersey
Zur Mittagszeit wollten wir uns in dem in vielen Reiseführern gelobten, urigen Imbiss "The hungry man" in der Rozel Bay stärken. Wie im Bild zu sehen war der Andrang eher mittelmäßig. Die Wartezeit, die wir für zwei Burger auf uns nehmen mussten, war jedoch recht ausladend. 70 Minuten warteten wir, bis unser Essen zur Abholung bereit stand. Geschmeckt hat es aber. Senioren sollten sich in acht nehmen - siehe Detailbild.


The hungry man, Rozel Bay, Jersey
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    
 
 
 
 
 

Gorey Castle, Jersey
Am Nachmittag unternahmen wir einen kurzen Abstecher nach Gorey - die Kulisse aus Hafenstraße und Gorey Castle ist beeindruckend. Für die Besichtigung der Festung muss man sich allerdings Zeit mitbringen. Wir verschieben diese daher auf den nächsten Tag.







Old Court House Inn, St. Aubin, Jersey
Abends spazieren wir am Hafen von St. Aubin. Dabei entdecke ich einen Ort, der häufig Schauplatz bei "Bergerac" war - "Lils Barge" (zeige in Google-Earth / KMZ-Datei) - zu erkennen an dem Fenster, welches aussieht wie das Heck eines alten Segelschiffes. Hier traf sich der Sgt. Jim Bergerac mit seinen diversen Freundinnen oder auch mit seinem Chef und Kollegen. Im waren Leben heißt das Lokal "Old Court House Inn".